oc_outhouse

Show off work in progress maps.
Xenire
Former Developer
Former Developer

oc_outhouse

Post by Xenire »

Greetings my fellow coop enjoying brethren. Many of you may have probably seen me lurking around on the server now and then. I greatly enjoy cooperative experiences and have been doing so since Doom (which I still coop), and Svencoop was one of my favorite original HL mods. I have not made this thread to simply introduce myself but also introduce a map I've been working on. I have mapped for Goldsrc but it was a rather limited experience and more of experimentation than anything serious, but I did make one hell of a nice Imperial Shuttle prop. I'm a newbie when it comes to mapping for Source; this map is essentially me teaching myself the ropes and I've progressed decently. I call it oc_outhouse a good name... yes, it is good. It's still an early WIP so there is much to do yet and plenty of things to improve that are already in place. The map will generally be of a more serious nature in the spirit of classic coop and that's what I enjoy the most (but I do like fun maps now and then too). I'll briefly explain some of the goals of the map and what it is and isn't designed for.

What to expect:
-Linear combat based progression
-Simple teamwork requirements
-Limited ammunition and weaponry (sharing is caring)
-Lives
-Secrets (to be well equipped it will be best to keep an open eye)
-Scripted weapons from OC
-Decent standard of architecture and detail

What not to expect:
-Complex trigger work
-Uber npcs
-Rush friendly
-Expert level design

The map will require Episode 2 mounted since it uses a large number of textures and props from it. Episode 2 content is so much higher quality and it just didn't feel right to not utilize what's there. I will include a simple brief story with the map if anyone really cares.

Some early WIP progress screenshots: