Obsidian Conflict Forums

Have you seen my coffee cup?
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:59 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Assassin NPC problems
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:04 pm 
Offline
Pixel

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
So, I'm having some issues with placing assassins on a map. I was curious if there is a specific way to do this, because when I try to do it, this happens. Before you blame the model, it does the same thing with the default model included with Obsidian.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... ngs/AI.mp4
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... D%20AI.mp4

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:59 am 
Offline
Donator
Donator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Posts: 55
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 2 times
I've seen this happen so many times in custom maps that I'd say it's a bug in the code. I don't know if anyone has a fix to it but really all I can say is, stick with it or just not use them at all. :|

_________________
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:51 pm 
Offline
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Posts: 2521
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 128 times
Have thanks: 143 times
Heh, I always wanted to use a custom Combine Assasin model to the monster_assasin npc.

Yes, is a bug with the AI of the npc itself. Is near to be totally fixed at the next version.

_________________
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:16 am 
Offline
Pixel

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Any idea when the fix would come out? It's kinda halting my mapping progress.

I should probably say that the only reason I got the beta assassin to work is as a replacement. The custom model field seems to be broken as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:03 pm 
Offline
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Posts: 2521
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 128 times
Have thanks: 143 times
FreeKill762 wrote:
Any idea when the fix would come out? It's kinda halting my mapping progress.

I should probably say that the only reason I got the beta assassin to work is as a replacement. The custom model field seems to be broken as well.



The custom model field doesn't work with HL:S, EP1 and EP2 entities for a reason I don't remember.

There's nothing you can't do, since you can't tell the npc to do not use grenades. Just use it, don't halt your map because a npc malfunctions.

_________________
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:43 pm 
Offline
Pixel

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Maestro Fénix wrote:
FreeKill762 wrote:
Any idea when the fix would come out? It's kinda halting my mapping progress.

I should probably say that the only reason I got the beta assassin to work is as a replacement. The custom model field seems to be broken as well.



The custom model field doesn't work with HL:S, EP1 and EP2 entities for a reason I don't remember.

There's nothing you can't do, since you can't tell the npc to do not use grenades. Just use it, don't halt your map because a npc malfunctions.


But that's not the problem. I replaced the assassin via files. Didn't use the custom model field at all. Really sucks because the assassin plays a good part for one of the sections of one map. It seems that the NPC is broken, at least on my end.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:22 pm 
Offline
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Posts: 2521
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 128 times
Have thanks: 143 times
FreeKill762 wrote:
But that's not the problem. I replaced the assassin via files. Didn't use the custom model field at all. Really sucks because the assassin plays a good part for one of the sections of one map. It seems that the NPC is broken, at least on my end.


Maestro Fénix wrote:
(...)is a bug with the AI of the npc itself.


Maestro Fénix wrote:
The custom model field doesn't work with HL:S, EP1 and EP2 entities for a reason I don't remember.



There is a 50% of chances that the Assasin bugs. For example, in Nerv, from all the games I had on it, I only saw it bug three times. If you are on doubt, just spawn more (be careful with this, don't make lag the map by having too much npcs at the same time).

_________________
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 10:18 am 
Offline
Pixel

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Maestro Fénix wrote:
There is a 50% of chances that the Assasin bugs. For example, in Nerv, from all the games I had on it, I only saw it bug three times.


Don't take this the wrong way, but I feel like you're kinda dodging my question. You said this is fixed in the next version, when would this be?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:40 pm 
Offline
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Posts: 2521
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 128 times
Have thanks: 143 times
FreeKill762 wrote:
Don't take this the wrong way, but I feel like you're kinda dodging my question.


Wrong, I replied your three questions.

FreeKill762 wrote:
You said this is fixed in the next version, when would this be?


When it is done.

_________________
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group