[Tutorial] How to setup NPC speech soundscripts.

Archived Source Engine and Obsidian Tutorials.
Hickadam
prop_physics
prop_physics

Post by Hickadam »

Okay,

FIXED IT....

I'm not sure if this is engine specific, or a mod thing, but whatever.

These are the steps to put custom .wav speaking npc's into your map.

1. Record your sounds, and place them in sounds/*folder*, folder name is up to you, but it's nice if it's the same as your map.

2. Open your sounds in faceposer, load the .wav's individually, and set the lip syncing, then create your scenes.

3. As you are satisfied with each scene, before saving it, edit the .wav event, and change the sound file from a "folder/file.wav" location, to a "soundname.soundname" format. I know this sounds weird but I'm gettin there.

4. A little info: I'm not an expert on this, but for some reason, organization probably, valve decided to make sound script files. The .wav file is referenced, and then the sound is identified with "name.name" with no extension. For instance, a flesh burning and chopping sound could normally be something like "sound/player/combat/fleshburn.wav" and "sound/player/slicer/fleshchop.wav".

The script file has that info in it, as well as other crap, and now, those files could be found as "flesh.burn" and "flesh.chop". Kinda nifty, but equally annoying in my opinion. Anyways, faceposer appears to allow references to .wav files, and it does in HL2 and some other mods, but I think they're taking away support for that. Faceposer only really likes sounds in something.something format.