Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Obsidian General.
User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:06 am

Today I was launching Obsidian Conflict and when it was on the loading screen, it crashed and left an error "SetupArrayProps_R: array prop '(null)' is at index zero."

Is there any fix to this?
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Maestro Fénix » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:41 am

¿It's the first time you launch it? ¿Have you converted the Source SDK Base 2007 to SteamPipe? ¿Have a game mounted?

EDIT: Alright, my Source SDK Base 2007 just updated and is giving the same error. Usually this problem used to appear if you didn't set correctly a server, or if your gameinfo.txt was wrong, but everything is fine.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
Lucky9Two
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:46 am
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Lucky9Two » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:13 am

Try updating the gameinfo.txt, I had some 2007 mods that wouldn't work until I updated that file.
Image
Image
^ Clickable Images ^
I'm the guy who takes the psychologically concerning selfies.

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Maestro Fénix » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:05 am

Neico: Join the SteamPipe beta of the Source SDK Base 2007, and convert the content.


It works fine after that.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:07 am

Lucky9Two wrote:Try updating the gameinfo.txt, I had some 2007 mods that wouldn't work until I updated that file.
I looked in the gameinfo.txt. The steamAPPID is on 218. Also I looked up on the valve website and it said that the error appears when you are launching a Source 2007 mod in 2009.

However I found out steampipe beta fixes it, just it doesn't mount games.(Found out a couple of hours ago)
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

raidensnake
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by raidensnake » Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:37 pm

daunknownman2010 wrote:
Lucky9Two wrote:just it doesn't mount games.(Found out a couple of hours ago)
Don't worry we might find a way of getting the mounts to work.

User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:53 pm

raidensnake wrote:
daunknownman2010 wrote:
Lucky9Two wrote:just it doesn't mount games.(Found out a couple of hours ago)
Don't worry we might find a way of getting the mounts to work.

How? I think valve never really made Source 2007 steampipe read VPKs.
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

User avatar
Neico
Lead Coder
Lead Coder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Neico » Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:46 pm

the actual problem is bigger then just the vpk's...

the engine itself provides vpk reading with the steampipe beta, the problem is that oc's mount code doesn't respect vpk based mounting, so even adding it to the gameinfo.txt has no effect as the mod overrides it...

the next problem that arises is that MountSteamContent in the filesystem is empty with the steampipe update, this means that there is no linking to the the games being done anymore, this pretty much kills the entire mount code.

To fix it you need to first extract all the vpk's of the games you want to mount and then symlink them into the source sdk base 2007 folder, there will be tools to archive that in time, but for now, this is all you can do...

User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:40 pm

Neico wrote:the actual problem is bigger then just the vpk's...

the engine itself provides vpk reading with the steampipe beta, the problem is that oc's mount code doesn't respect vpk based mounting, so even adding it to the gameinfo.txt has no effect as the mod overrides it...

the next problem that arises is that MountSteamContent in the filesystem is empty with the steampipe update, this means that there is no linking to the the games being done anymore, this pretty much kills the entire mount code.

To fix it you need to first extract all the vpk's of the games you want to mount and then symlink them into the source sdk base 2007 folder, there will be tools to archive that in time, but for now, this is all you can do...
Thx for the content fix. I can play EP2 maps once again!
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

User avatar
Neico
Lead Coder
Lead Coder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Neico » Tue Oct 08, 2013 5:54 pm

[06.01.2014 13:16 GMT+2] https://gitlitio.us/snippets/3 - passing "debug" (without the quotes) onto the bat allows you to debug the script, everything else passed as "<mount1> <mount2> <mount...>" allows you to only run specific VPK extraction (so that you don't have to wait hours if you only need one folder re-extracted)

this one only takes care of the VPK issue, prepare for long processing, also: this script may contain bugs, use at your own risk

Edit: Last Edit of this post, the link won't change

User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Wed Oct 09, 2013 4:34 am

It seems that they fixed the Source SDK Base 2007 error. So we don't need to use steampipe beta anymore.

EDIT: I'm still gonna use Steampipe beta, the content is fixed(Thanks to Neico), I can load my fav. maps again and what is the point if you go back to non-steampipe.
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

User avatar
Neico
Lead Coder
Lead Coder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Neico » Wed Oct 09, 2013 5:20 pm

the beta will be merged into the main branch sooner or later, so there is really no point in turning back once you're on it...

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Maestro Fénix » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:52 am

Used the second script, but I get an "access denied" error on each VPK it tried to extract. I ran the script with admin powers, and wrote client.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
daunknownman2010
Donator
Donator
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:57 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by daunknownman2010 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:38 pm

Maestro Fénix wrote:Used the second script, but I get an "access denied" error on each VPK it tried to extract. I ran the script with admin powers, and wrote client.
Another way is manually going into the VPK file(GCFScape should work).
"Only your heart is hollow enough to be a demon's"

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Source SDK Base 2007 startup error?

Post by Maestro Fénix » Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:06 pm

daunknownman2010 wrote:
Maestro Fénix wrote:Used the second script, but I get an "access denied" error on each VPK it tried to extract. I ran the script with admin powers, and wrote client.
Another way is manually going into the VPK file(GCFScape should work).
That's what I did at the end, I posted to say that I have problems with the script.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

Post Reply