Setting up an oc Server

Server Help/Discussion.
User avatar
LeoKilo
Pixel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:36 pm

Post by LeoKilo » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:51 pm

This will take up alot of space right?
STEAM: LeoKilo

User avatar
Neico
Lead Coder
Lead Coder
Posts: 1811
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Neico » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:17 pm

~40 GB (campaign ~28GB, srcds ~12 GB, OC ~1,22 GB) if you add anything from the stuff via hldsupdatetool to the campaign stuff (goldsource stuff excluded which would add another ~1,23 GB)
Image

User avatar
LeoKilo
Pixel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:36 pm

Post by LeoKilo » Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:47 pm

wow thats alot. i dont have enough space
STEAM: LeoKilo

User avatar
Datastream
Donator
Donator
Posts: 870
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:24 pm

Post by Datastream » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:46 pm

I'm no expert. But can't you all your steam games and then use that? Or just completely delete steam?

User avatar
Dr.Stinglock
Donator
Donator
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:09 am
Location: AU
Contact:

Post by Dr.Stinglock » Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:04 am

Datastream wrote:can't you all your steam games and then use that?
Nope.

User avatar
Datastream
Donator
Donator
Posts: 870
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:24 pm

Post by Datastream » Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:35 am

Shit. I meant delete! Can't you delete all your games and then use that space. :P

jehdin
Polygon
Polygon
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:12 am

Post by jehdin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:32 pm

I'm interested to find out if OC is superior to other srcds servers for co-op games.

I have a dedicated server from AoWC that's already running Synergy, and I note that both mods use the same extra files to be extracted from EP1 and 2. My question is, am I telling the techs to install the OC client files into the orangebox folder, or am I telling them to install the OC server (Minus, I suppose, the SDK data - I've had nothing but issues installing these) into the Orangebox folder? Thanks!

User avatar
Shana
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 3001
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Shana » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:02 pm

You simply use the oc client files and put them into the orangebox folder (in a folder called "obsidian" of course).
Image

jehdin
Polygon
Polygon
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:12 am

Post by jehdin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:06 pm

Fantastic; server ordered! Thanks for the quick response!

Pneuvo
Pixel
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:09 pm

Makes me feel dumb

Post by Pneuvo » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:37 pm

I am trying to follow the instructions, but when I get to Extracting Source Game Content I don't think I understand what you mean by "Extract". I have the feeling there is some program that lets you look at a GCF file as if it were an archive and pull things out, but I am not familiar with this tool.

I would be happy with a non-dedicated server, but when either I or my friend set up in server mode, we get an error about it being set up as LAN code 3. This despite entering sv_lan 0 in the console. Have set up a couple of other cooperative mods successfully, but they don't offer a method of specifying and adding player models.

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
fug4life
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 4093
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:35 am

Post by fug4life » Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:26 pm

google: GCF Scape

It will allow you to extract Game Cache Files.
'I would probably smarten up before you meet Violet'.
'She has zero tolerance for idiots'.

fug's Obsidian files
fug's Obsidian clips
Obsidian wiki
Obsidian Map Database

User avatar
hummingbird96
Vertex
Vertex
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 2:13 am
Location: Korea Republic of,
Contact:

Post by hummingbird96 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:09 pm

i think, updated new source 2007 binaries version.
Image
n.c - The Korean Obsidian Conflict Groups
-http://steamcommunity.com/groups/obsidiaNConflictKorea
Image
Image

goirdin
Vertex
Vertex
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:11 pm

Post by goirdin » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:59 am

I get the same problem as Alfie. I got to the final step of setting up a server, then when I launch the batch file it says "Engine Error: SetupArrayProps_R: array prop '(null)' is at index zero." I need help here because the solution of putting quotes around the folder in the batch did nothing. I spent about an hour putting together all the files and I actually want to be able to host a server for that :(

goirdin
Vertex
Vertex
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:11 pm

Post by goirdin » Fri Jun 04, 2010 3:20 am

I fixed it, turns out the problem was the colliding tf2 and hl2 engines.

User avatar
PaintNETutorial
Vertex
Vertex
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:57 pm

Post by PaintNETutorial » Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:25 pm

If i start the Server by this:
srcds.exe -console -game obsidian -port 27015 +map oc_harvest +maxplayers 8

The Server Loads a bit, then it says:
Engine Error
Setup ArrayProps_R: array prop '(null)' is at index zero.

As a new window.
What should i freakn' do?
Can someone Upload a empty Server for me?
hh, won't work because it has 40 GB, right? :/

Post Reply