Page 1 of 3

CVAR information/ recommendation

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:12 am
by skidz
Now I want to let server operators know a couple things.


to make players non-solid to each other

mp_playercollide

Also, if you wish to have no sniper lasers in your server the command is

sk_sniperlaser

To turn off gauss jumping

sv_allowgaussjump


To start an episode 1 or episode 2 sp map, you need to turn on the corresponding console command.

sv_ep1searchpath 1
or
sv_ep2searchpath 1

Recommended network cvars:

net_queued_packet_thread 1
Needs to be set to 1 or ping will raise very high once more players are connected.

net_splitrate 1024
This fixes the lag spikes once the server->client packets go over ~1500/s.

net_splitpacket_maxrate 30000
Same as above.

sv_maxrate 0
Its the best to not restrict the maxrate at all.

sv_minrate 30000
Set minrate to at least 10000 or 20000, or players may experience "lag" in high-action areas, even if theres still enough bandwidth.

For homehosted servers with very limited bandwidth i recommend setting
sv_minrate 10000
sv_maxrate 20000
sv_maxupdaterate 20 or even 10
To reduce network traffic.

What to NOT put into the server.cfg:
(Due to some bug in the order oc executes config files, some commands should NOT be in the server.cfg or else they could override map settings and seriously break some maps.)

Code: Select all

mp_falldamage			"0"
mp_timelimit 			"0"
sv_hl2mp_weapon_respawn_time 	"3"
sv_hl2mp_item_respawn_time 	"20"
mp_hl1crossbow 			"0"
mp_forcerespawn 		"0"
mp_playercollide 		"1"
mp_bunnyhop 			"0"
sv_gravity 			"600"
mp_teamplay 			"0"
sv_forcehardleveltransitions 	"0"
If you have any of those commands in your server.cfg, remove them and put them at the end of your skill.cfg instead, it will prevent this bug from happening.

Important note: don't put "exec skill.cfg" into the server.cfg or anywhere else either, this will break map configs as well. (it's only meant to be in skill_manifest.cfg.)

Ill post more information as it comes.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:54 am
by Svanrog
Sweet. I can't remember last time a saw the mod creator create a help topic for server operators. You're doing good guys! :D

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:30 pm
by Sam!00!
you mean players cant go through each other?

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:33 pm
by Svanrog
[JSC]sam!00! wrote:you mean players cant go through each other?
Sure he does. Like in WoW. Could be good when you have lots of people in small maps.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:35 pm
by Sam!00!
in one big box!

|===|
| o |
| | |
__^___

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:36 pm
by Scrap
[JSC]sam!00! wrote:in one big box!

|===|
| o |
| | |
__^___
you call that a box? :lol:

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:41 pm
by Sam!00!
yes :(

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:50 pm
by skidz
[JSC]sam!00! wrote:in one big box!

|===|
| o |
| | |
__^___
:thinking:

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:09 pm
by [JSC][GU]PREDATOR
I don't get it... :?

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:57 pm
by Sam!00!
its meant to be a box :(

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:32 pm
by Guhlius
I got some questions.
1. How do i set the maps ppl can choose in the "map select"-map
2. How do i spawn a power module (as admin and with sv_cheats 1"
3. What is the Combine mask good for
(4. Y does the sniper shoot that inaccurate)

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:07 am
by skidz
1. Zteers map selection map uses the mapadd system to change which doors use which level etc.. Look in the maps/cfg folder for the txt file.

2. Power module is for the cloak item and w/e else we add for it.

3. Combine mask reduces damage, but will do more later when we get back to the armor system.

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:51 pm
by Guhlius
which txt file? an what to do with it

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:35 am
by [FTA]c0m4ndo45
And the answer 4? its actually the only one i wanted to hear out of the 4 questions.

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:16 pm
by Scrap
[JSC]c0m4ndo45 wrote:And the answer 4? its actually the only one i wanted to hear out of the 4 questions.
Skidz wrote:Its really only a good weapon if you have time to stop, couch and fire. Not designed as a run and gun weapon.
Hyperjag3 wrote:The shot cone is very large without zoom though, even if it looks like you will be accurate, you won't.