Page 3 of 14

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:23 pm
by MaestraFénix

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:42 pm
by Fighter
It's source code value, not console command.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:17 pm
by MaestraFénix
Fighter wrote:It's source code value, not console command.
I cant find nothing. But for what you want it? for they only can watch 1 of the 3 ways?

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:08 pm
by Fighter
Maestro Fénix wrote:But for what you want it? for they only can watch 1 of the 3 ways?
Yes, something like that. I want make them not able to spot enemy which is at their left/right side, only when enemy is close they can see him.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:54 am
by TESLA-X4
Unfortunately, that is pretty difficult to do for now (though you could probably modify it via datamaps with the help of a SourceMod plugin). I've made a change in code to allow adjusting this in the next version via addoutput or the keyvalues system.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:29 pm
by MaestraFénix
I´m giving the last touches for my map, but while i continue making it better:
  1. How i "tell" to a enemy that moves to a point of the map? The only thing that i found is using the rally things, but only work with the combines. There is another way?
  2. I want that at the end of the map, while the screen and credits are fading and appearing, "pause" everything (players and npc dont move and do things)? Is something related with host_timescale command or something?
  3. (YES, I KNOW THAT I MADE THE SAME QUESTION ONE AND ANOTHER TIME) I want use a custom health and suit charger. EVERYBODY says that overriding the originals (as if i wanted remplace it for me like using skins) and using pakrat it will work.

    I dont have time to make a test map to try it, so, ARE YOU SURE THAT THIS WILL WORK?
  4. I continue having the same question: If i use pakrat to get all the things in the map file, it will not necesary upload the rest of folders (well, the things like the weapons are necesary)?. If i do this, people will can use later in Hammer the textures and models?

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:44 am
by Axel_m3sh
1) have you tried aiscripted_schedule?
2) Get a point_camera or something like that and enable it with the flags freeze player controls or whatever when you are done as for npcs, just kill em (delete)
3) never tried that yet myself sadly :(
4) if you use pakrat to pack in textures and models no people can't use them outside that map (unless you extract it or something lol) as for custom weapons, i don't think i tried myself either...

That's all I know, sorry if it ain't much

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 1:51 pm
by MaestraFénix
Hmm, aiscripted_schedule is perfect for what i want, but only works 1 time and only picks a few npcs.

I have the following (i´m using a npc_template_maker):
  • Npc (hgrunt, vort, agrunt):

    flags: fall to ground, template npc, dont drop weapons.
  • aiscripted_schedule:

    target npc: the name of the npc
    search radious: 0
    all in radious: yes
    ai state: alert
    schedule: enemy and run
    interupt:death
    goal: name of the info_target
the aiscripted_schedule is triggered by a button 1 time.

Any idea what could be the error?

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:46 pm
by MaestraFénix
Maestro Fénix wrote:Hmm, aiscripted_schedule is perfect for what i want, but only works 1 time and only picks a few npcs.

I have the following (i´m using a npc_template_maker):
  • Npc (hgrunt, vort, agrunt):

    flags: fall to ground, template npc, dont drop weapons.
  • aiscripted_schedule:

    target npc: the name of the npc
    search radious: 0
    all in radious: yes
    ai state: alert
    schedule: enemy and run
    interupt:death
    goal: name of the info_target
the aiscripted_schedule is triggered by a button 1 time.

Any idea what could be the error?
After see carefully in game, only takes 6 npcs, the rest no. Maybe is their limit?

EDIT: Ok i just got move all the npcs, but only work the "first" wave. When new npcs spawn, those dont move. I have check "repetable"

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:57 pm
by MaestraFénix
Sorry about doubleposting, but i finally fixed it:

aiscripted_schedule:

Search radious: 0 (all)
All: Yes
AI: Combat
Schedule: Run and enemy
Interrupt: Death:
target: Name of the info_target.

dont check anything in the "flags" tab.

To make it repetable, i used a logic_timer, that every 3 seconds it start the schedule. With this, you can have waves to a determinate zone.



If someone of the team can look why the "repetable" flag dont work to fix it we will be pleased .

With this, only left to add the details to release my map :D

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:33 pm
by MaestraFénix
Maestro Fénix wrote: [*](YES, I KNOW THAT I MADE THE SAME QUESTION ONE AND ANOTHER TIME) I want use a custom health and suit charger. EVERYBODY says that overriding the originals (as if i wanted remplace it for me like using skins) and using pakrat it will work.

I dont have time to make a test map to try it, so, ARE YOU SURE THAT THIS WILL WORK?
It work. The photo was taken without having the materials and models:

Image


The bad is that forces you put all the "default" textures (although i dont know if this rise the size of the file).

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:21 am
by MaestraFénix
I have a weird problem with a func_tank being controlled from a pod.

It works, but if i parent the entity to a func_rotate to rotate it, it got moved a bit and doesnt work. I tried with all the values in the func_tank, and only got fixed their rotation, but still without working. I have parented the info_target with the turret.

It must be work because looks like people made things like this before me:

http://obsidianconflict.net/forums/view ... f=6&t=2717


Image


It must be something stupid.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:51 pm
by MaestraFénix
Fixed. It was a mix of solid, wrong pitch yaw rotation and incorrect values in the func_tank. I couldnt saw this before because the tests that i made checked individually a type of error, not a mix.

Starting with the public experimental part.


Thanks to BloodShed (http://obsidianconflict.net/forums/view ... f=6&t=2717) for their thread. I could learn how works the game_ui and the prisoner pod.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:38 pm
by MaestraFénix
The map where i´m working is just at one step to be public tested (and if every goes well, released), but i have a last problem:

The enemies are "not solid", they can be in a small point clipping with the rest (but you can shoot they, and have collisions with the world and with you). Maybe isnt a big problem that only affects the visual gameplay, but when the enemy moves all at same time "being one" (hgrunts and Houndeyes) you only can hit one of the enemy (unless you use explosives), being a big problem.

Anyone knows what is the problem? I remember that before i didnt have that in the map.

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:48 pm
by MaestraFénix
I know that i should post this in my site, but it continues in Alpha state.


After investigate the effect that i wanted for the map, i concluded that is determinated by the game (in HL1 games, some npcs have a option that, in case of sucess or failure, it freezes and fade to black. The best example of this would be HL: Decay).

point_camera worked more or less right for my like.



Actually, i´m investigating how to pack some textures and models in the pack, without have to pack ALL. PackBSP looks like it can do it, unlike PakRat (you have to do something complicated in order it cant take ALL), but i couldnt get it to work properly.


The "no collision alive" bug stills. Players will have to deal with it.


For last, now for unknown reasons, the enemy only "waits" (it moves a bit in their zone), instead of move to the designate site. But curiously, when they see the player, it starts working.