Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Reply

Need Help? The Day isnt going so well on the Mapping front?
User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:46 pm

It would be possible to set in Hammer the bodygroup of a model?
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
Umbrae
prop_static
prop_static
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: A nice place :P

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Umbrae » Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:02 am

If you are talking about physics, static and dynamic I don't think it is in the default features. I come to this conclusion by the fact that car models have specific models for physics and static/dynamic, meaning models are either one or the other. Unless it was added with Obsidian Conflict content, my best guess is it wouldn't be.
~Umbrae~

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:32 am

Umbrae wrote:If you are talking about physics, static and dynamic I don't think it is in the default features. I come to this conclusion by the fact that car models have specific models for physics and static/dynamic, meaning models are either one or the other. Unless it was added with Obsidian Conflict content, my best guess is it wouldn't be.
I knew it D:

Also, someone knows if is possible to colour the skin of a model from Hammer on OC, like you can do with the cars in L4D/L4D2?
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
Shana
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 3001
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Shana » Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:12 pm

Maestro Fénix wrote:It would be possible to set in Hammer the bodygroup of a model?
You can with the "SetBodygroup" input, there may be a keyvalue too. Works on all dynamic and physics props.
Maestro Fénix wrote:
Umbrae wrote:If you are talking about physics, static and dynamic I don't think it is in the default features. I come to this conclusion by the fact that car models have specific models for physics and static/dynamic, meaning models are either one or the other. Unless it was added with Obsidian Conflict content, my best guess is it wouldn't be.
I knew it D:

Also, someone knows if is possible to colour the skin of a model from Hammer on OC, like you can do with the cars in L4D/L4D2?
You can only color the whole model currently, and it only works for dynamic entities (props, NPCs etc).
It will probably be possible in the future though.
Image

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:54 pm

W0rf0x wrote:You can with the "SetBodygroup" input, there may be a keyvalue too. Works on all dynamic and physics props.
I completely forgot that input. Thanks.
W0rf0x wrote:You can only color the whole model currently, and it only works for dynamic entities (props, NPCs etc).
It will probably be possible in the future though.
I don´t understand at all how it works in L4D/L4D2. On the rest of "engine branchs" it colours the entire model, but there, it colours only a part of it. I bet that is a keyvalue on their VMTs, something like the "player picked" color on HL:S and Gmod.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
Gary
npc_advisor
npc_advisor
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:21 am
Location: USA, FL
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Gary » Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:00 pm

I believe ASW has the color option thing. We could probably rip it from there if we wanted it in OC.

User avatar
Umbrae
prop_static
prop_static
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: A nice place :P

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Umbrae » Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:38 pm

W0rf0x wrote:
Maestro Fénix wrote:It would be possible to set in Hammer the bodygroup of a model?
You can with the "SetBodygroup" input, there may be a keyvalue too. Works on all dynamic and physics props.
Maestro Fénix wrote:
Umbrae wrote:If you are talking about physics, static and dynamic I don't think it is in the default features. I come to this conclusion by the fact that car models have specific models for physics and static/dynamic, meaning models are either one or the other. Unless it was added with Obsidian Conflict content, my best guess is it wouldn't be.
I knew it D:

Also, someone knows if is possible to colour the skin of a model from Hammer on OC, like you can do with the cars in L4D/L4D2?
You can only color the whole model currently, and it only works for dynamic entities (props, NPCs etc).
It will probably be possible in the future though.
Oh wow, learn something new everyday.
~Umbrae~

User avatar
Umbrae
prop_static
prop_static
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: A nice place :P

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Umbrae » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:59 pm

Does anyone know/ have a list of textures that when used with create geometry, will grow 3D grass? I know a few of them like blendgrassgravel, but I think there are quite a few more, and don't know of any others.

Thanks.
~Umbrae~

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:23 pm

Umbrae wrote:Does anyone know/ have a list of textures that when used with create geometry, will grow 3D grass? I know a few of them like blendgrassgravel, but I think there are quite a few more, and don't know of any others.

Thanks.
Is small, but is something https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wik ... tail_types
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
SANICADVENTURE2
Polygon
Polygon
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: NEW WORLD ORDER

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by SANICADVENTURE2 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:32 pm

Hi! I hope someone can help me with this little problem I have.

It's about a trigger_push that's not working. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Here's a screenshot about what what I've done.

Image

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
Shana
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 3001
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Shana » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:59 pm

Set the proper flags as to what to affect? If that doesn't work, try a bigger push force.
Image

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:10 am

Raise the push force. The player will start moving from 250. Check the flags too.
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
SANICADVENTURE2
Polygon
Polygon
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: NEW WORLD ORDER

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by SANICADVENTURE2 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:15 pm

W0rf0x wrote:Set the proper flags as to what to affect? If that doesn't work, try a bigger push force.
Maestro Fénix wrote:Raise the push force. The player will start moving from 250. Check the flags too.
Thank you both :!:

:thumbup:

I activated the flag "Everything" and raised the push force to 500 and now the trigger_push works perfect!

User avatar
Maestro Fénix
Team Member
Team Member
Posts: 2458
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:50 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Maestro Fénix » Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:14 pm

We have any entity which triggers an output depending on the skill level (for example, another player joins and the skill level goes to 3, then, idk, make spawn a npc, or a player leaves and the skill goes to 1, then, make something).?
Click on my photo to add me into your friends in Steam
Image
Steam photos | Steam videos


Image

User avatar
Gary
npc_advisor
npc_advisor
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:21 am
Location: USA, FL
Contact:

Re: Post here your problems/questions with hammer. Post & Re

Post by Gary » Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:00 am

You can count the amount of players: http://wiki.obsidianconflict.net/?title ... yer_branch

Just use that to set up difficult levels.

Post Reply